David Lachapelle Jesus is my Homeboy

JESUS IS MY HOMEBOY David Lachapelle  photo exhibition at the Jablonka  Gallery May 14 – August 19, 2012 Köln, Germany.

Religious icons meet pop kitsch, is my guess, these are some of my favourite photographs from the past years, in the top picture you can see Jesus espresso pot and two eggs by the stove, nice touch, Lachapelle described as a surrealist photographer, littered with pop, glamour, fetish and celebs.

In 2010 I emailed an overseas gallery regarding the cost of one of these, I was just curious I never considered buying, the price was over £100k. They are all limited editions and probably in the hands of speculators watching the value rise. Lachapelle worked with Warhol in 80s who my have influenced his work his portfolio is huge so I wont try to catalogue it here. His website has a very interesting bio with all the history and facts, I took a paragraph of interest;

Most of the photographed subjects in the exhibition are neither actors, singers, or major glamorous figures, but rather models whose very anonymity makes for a criticism devoid of gossipy preaching, of ascription to a specific figure or episode; criticism directed at a social moral content which converses with life and the art world. 

www.davidlachapelle.com

Posted in art